Posted by: tabliope | August 4, 2014

mysterious or baffling

Today was my first day in my new job. An actual job that pays money nonetheless. I never really thought that it was going to take eleven years for me to be able to say that and, in the last couple of months, I wondered if I would ever be able to say it. Coming out of a career break in one’s late middle age, with an assortment of skills that are interesting but don’t tick the boxes of our corporate world has been interesting and depressing. Mostly depressing, if I’m honest.
Now I’m holding myself back from running around the agencies whose staff shrugged their shoulders whilst holding themselves back from rolling their eyes at someone who had the temerity to appear in person. Didn’t everyone know that ‘it’s all email these days’. Im holding myself back from running in and shouting, ‘I got a job and it’s a good job so stuff that in your email box.’
If you’d told me eleven years ago where I would end up working I would have smiled politely. It would appear that God moves in mysterious ways, although I think that my religious friends may be thinking that even by God’s standards this is mysterious indeed.
The only downside to my new job is that it is so blogworthy but I can’t.

Responses

  1. Hallelujah! Too bad you can’t blog it; instead you must put it in a novel and retire on the proceeds.

  2. I miss the days of internet anonymity. Sigh. Congrats on a real live job, though!


Leave a Reply

Categories

