Posted by: tabliope | March 5, 2013

turn your face to the sun and the shadows fall behind you

A few years back a friend of mine sent me a card with that legend on it and last year as I was tidying through my desk I found it tucked in with other cards and photographs.  When I found the card it was when I was at one of my lowest points of the year; pain, lack of sleep, lack of direction about what our future plans were had all combined and I wasn’t coping. There was something about the message that struck me and I went to the balcony and looked up at the sun, closed my eyes and said to myself: ‘I can feel the sun on my face and that means I’m alive.’. And from that point on I started to feel much better.  Of course it wasn’t just by saying the words, it was also down to a highly competent physiotherapist but, nevertheless, there was a truth there.   And now, most days, I am able to say that I can feel the sun on my face and I continue to remind myself of that.  It doesn’t matter what the future holds because for now I can feel the sun on my face.DSC06085

Responses

  1. I plan to borrow that phrase for low days – hope you don’t mind …

  2. That’s wonderful. I want to cross-stitch it and think about it when times are hard.


Leave a Reply

Categories

