Posted by: tabliope | January 9, 2013

Happy New Year

It’s another new year and this is the one where it’s all going to happen and even after nearly nine days into it I’m still feeling slightly optimistic about it all.  This morning at the social event that I attended I won the raffle prize and I’m taking that as a good omen for the year ahead.  The actual new year period is lovely but I realise now that I really hate those few moments before midnight with the buildup to the bells ringing out and everyone leaping around shouting HAPPY NEW YEAR.   When I was a small child my parents would get me out of bed to ‘bring in’ the new year.  I’ve never done well within the first ten minutes of waking up and as far as I was concerned we could have been waiting for Armageddon and I didn’t want to be there.  My father would take the dog out for a walk about twelve minutes before midnight and my mother would spend the next eleven minutes giving a running commentary on the time and whether or not my father would be back in time.  Who knows what would happen if we weren’t all in the same room when that old year rolled away but every year my father would reappear one minute before the end of the year and we would raise our glasses.  I am my father’s daughter in many ways.

What makes this new year particularly happy for me is that I am not in pain.  For those of you who knew about my painful shoulder then I apologise for mentioning it one more time and for those of you who didn’t know about it then consider yourself fortunate, do a happy dance and cheer loudly.  When you’re in pain then it’s all-consuming especially the sort of pain I had which was probably worse than any pain that any other person, ever in the history of the world,  has ever suffered.   At its height I was lucky to be able to sleep for longer than an hour at a time.  Those of you who have had children are probably saying ‘and? and?  what’s your point?’ but you weren’t being kept awake by small children whilst simultaneously having the sensation of giving birth through your shoulder were you?

As is typical for January I have a pile of projects that I aim to complete and, of course, this is the year where I’m going to write more, read more, learn more Greek and not drink quite so much wine.  Three years ago, when I first moved here, I had a ’52 Things’ list that I planned to complete in the year.  Because I have the willpower of a slug I have to have lists and plans or I would sit all day and read the internet.  If I’m completely honest I might not even read the internet and may only drink coffee but if I’ve made a list that becomes something that I have to do.  Okay, maybe not what I have to do but it nudges me.  I think I completed about 35 of the things on the 52 list and now this year I’m going to do a 55 Things list.  It won’t necessarily be any great shakes – for instance one of the things is being recycled from the previous list; make a souffle.  Now there’s a thing.

I have the idea that I’m going to blog this.  I also had the idea that I’d blog every day in December.

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Wow, a 52 Things list? That sounds fantastic. I’ll put that on my list. What was the hardest thing on the list? And the silliest?

  2. ps Fantastic news about your shoulder too.

  3. I’ve just had to look back at the list and there’s a lot of rather embarrassing ‘personal development’ sort of stuff involving listening more and being a better person. It’s not so much that that sort of thing is silly but it’s not terribly specific. I never made my own souvlaki and really, when I have an excellent butcher five minutes in one direction and umpteen lovely souvlaki cafes in the other direction, why would I?


Leave a Reply

Categories

