Posted by: tabliope | December 1, 2012

Ahem…

I seem to have missed November but I’ve had this idea that I could blog for December, like a little blogging advent calendar.  Anyone want to make a bet on whether or not I can make it up to the 25th where, instead of the baby jesus lying behind that last door there will be me with a glass of champagne and a stocking full of lovely things.

John Lloyd was a guest on Desert Island Discs recently and he said something which struck me about how it’s more important to be kind than to be clever.  I’m paraphrasing here, but he said something like: ‘if you’re clever that’s because you were lucky and born with it but you have to work at being kind.’  You don’t have to be particularly clever to find different ways of arguing with this but I decided not and thought a bit more about being kind.

Then I stepped out of my apartment and walked down the road in a city where being a pedestrian puts you below the bottom of any social hierarchy.  You quite simply are not just untouchable, you are not there.  So I introduced a couple of drivers to how to use ‘fuck’ as both a verb and an adjective and thought I’d consider kindness on another day.

Responses

  1. Educating the drivers – that’s kind. Kinda.

  2. I like the thought of opening day one of an advent calendar to see you flicking the Vs at Athens drivers.

  3. You are kindness incarnate.

  4. Plubby they pay me not the slightest bit of attention. It’s one of the great, albeit frustrating things about living here. You can stand in the street yelling your head off and no one cares.

    Yes, perhaps we should have adult advent calendars – I shall opt for one with a bottle of wine behind each door.

    You are too kind, Lesley. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

