Posted by: tabliope | January 19, 2012

Happy New Year

I pretend that I don’t make new year resolutions but deep down I do.  At the end of the old year I imagine the time when I’m going to be a better person, I’m not going to waste time, I’m going to update my blog regularly and I’m probably going to learn how to play the piano.  Oh, and I’m definitely going to read Possession by AS Byatt.  And then it’s the 6th of January, I’ve huffed at the man who pushed in front of me at the airport and my reading is mostly from a recipe book and my writing is confined to a shopping list.  Maybe I should go for a weekly resolution or even a daily resolution.  I know!  How about an hour?  Anyone can be a better person and not waste time for an hour.  Can’t they? Hey? Hello?

Responses

  1. I LOVE making resolutions, although I find them a lot easier to keep when they include things like ‘wear more glitter’, ‘go out for cocktails’ and ‘order a meat box from Smithfield market’ than purely ‘don’t leave washing hanging on the clothes horse until it’s standing there empty because we’ve worn everything that was on it’.

    I’ve become quite superstitious about it – the one year that I didn’t bother making a list, was the one where things went wrong.

  2. Yes, fun resolutions are much easier to keep. Mine is ‘stop saving things for best’, mainly because I have lots of dresses that I barely wear because I think they’re too nice. They’ll be eaten by moths if I’m not careful.


Leave a Reply

Categories

