Posted by: tabliope | November 17, 2011

Blue skies and spanikopita

If all goes to plan, in slightly less than a year we’ll be going back to live in the UK.   That’s the plan but ‘m not sure if Greece has read the plan so we could still be here in ten years or be going home in January depending on what happens on any given day.  This morning I started thinking about what it will be like to go back and I am looking forward to it but I’m also aware that ten years will have passed and we’re not going back to our old home or even our old town.  It’s going to be another new start in a small town where we know hardly anyone and maybe it’s not going to be as great as I hope it will be.

I started wondering what I will miss most about living here in Greece and I suppose that the main thing will be the blue skies because although we do seem to get a lot more rain than I expected we certainly get far more blue skies than the UK does.  And it’s a different sort of blue and the sky seems bigger in many ways.  I’ll also miss walking up to Βαρσοσ in Kifissia and buying freshly baked spanakopita and their own homemade yoghurt which is almost as good as the best yoghurt in the world from Aegina.

As I started thinking through the things that I’m looking forward to when I go home and the things that I will miss here,  I realised that most of them revolved around food so maybe I need to think about this a little bit more.

Responses

  1. I hope you’re also contemplating what you’ll be calling the new blog when you arrive.

  2. I know what you mean about the big skies – always a treat after lowering London clouds. Although it’s gorgeously sunny and breezy today …


Leave a Reply

Categories

