Posted by: tabliope | November 15, 2011

Twit.

Twitter really annoys me and just when I’m about to pack it all up and accept the ignominy that will result something useful happens.  Last week it was finding people on Twitter who were posting useful translations of the political situation here in Greece.  But mostly it annoys me and I think it’s because I don’t quite get it and I the etiquette of it seems to beyond me.

One of the things that I’m never sure about is what happens when two people you follow are having a public conversation and you burst in on it wondering what’s going on.  I can’t decide if the person butting in is being impolite in the way of starting to get involved in a conversation that two colleagues might be having by the photocopier or if the people having the public conversation are doing the equivalent of whispering to each other while in company.

And then after I spent at least 45 seconds thinking about this I thought I’d better find something more interesting to think about.  So I looked at a forum and then decided to post about twitter on my blog.

 

Responses

  1. I think it’s fine to jump in. It’s Twitter, not Secret Whisper World.

    • maybe not – but some people have behaved as if it was which is why I wondered. I suspect that some just like to have private conversations in front of other people and behave rudely even when you’re in front of them.

  2. I always just barge in and expect people to do the same – especially when I can’t fit all their names in @replies so I assume my friends will know they can join in whenever they like.

    I love Twitter in general anyway though – especially when everyone in my timeline is bitching about Newsnight or like last night, during My Transsexual Summer, I could follow the reactions of the people in it, as it aired (update: they’re still lovely).

    I’ve no idea what to write about today. Might be time to break out the pictures of baby hedgehogs in teacups.

    • I’ve sort of just got one of the reasons why it doesn’t work for me and it’s because I’m pretty much out of the time zone of what most of the people i know are doing on Twitter – I watch most of the telly the next day on iplayer because although we’re only 2 hours out it’s a big gap when things are on at 10.00pm. (I think that I just don’t ‘get’ quite a lot of it, which is fine.)

      • That’s actually quite interesting in itself – the media has been banging on about how tv on demand has changed the way we watch telly (i.e. people no longer watch programmes as a family) and even though we probably don’t sit don’t with our families much nowadays, I think more and more people are starting to make the effort to sit down and watch something with the internet.


Leave a Reply

Categories

