Posted by: tabliope | November 8, 2011

I’m going Greek for the day

Channel 4 is currently offering a programme that allows three British families to experience ‘first-hand the causes of Greece’s financial meltdown’.  I haven’t seen it yet but I suppose I’ll have to watch it although I’m not sure that my blood pressure can take it.  From what I’ve heard so far it sounds like the Daily Mail adopting an even more censorious approach than they do usually.  They say that hairdressers may retire at the age of 53 and I’m really not sure that this is true because the guy who cuts my hair, Mr Costas, is probably about 7o.

The people who didn’t/don’t pay their tax in Greece aren’t the people who are employed by someone else because people are taxed at source on their salary.  If you’re self-employed then it’s more likely that there is some creative accounting going on.  If you are my landlord then you’ve probably never paid tax in your life, but these anecdotes do not a country make.  This is an interesting article.

Mr T’s team is entirely Greek and the majority of his colleagues are Greek. They work hard and they don’t earn much money.  They take pride in what they do.  In many ways they can irritating and annoying but no more than any group of colleagues you face every day.  They aren’t corrupt, they don’t cheat and they’re horrified by what’s happening in this country at the moment.  And when is anyone going to start pointing their fingers at the people who have made massive deals on betting for Greece going bankrupt.

(sticks fingers in ears and goes ‘la la la la – can’t hear you’ if anyone mentions the strikes.  I’m Greek today)

In better news, the olive harvest is underway so I can go to the Peloponnese and get some fresh olive oil.  My only quarrel with nature is that they haven’t worked out how to get the tomatoes ripened at the same time as the fresh olive oil.

Καλιμερα.

Leave a Reply

Categories

