Posted by: tabliope | October 21, 2010

Wyoming’s a suburb of Boston, right?

I know that it’s not terribly clever to poke fun at some Americans’  understanding of European countries which is why I’m quite ready to hold my hands up to knowing nothing about American geography;  however, I do know that America isn’t Canada despite them both being vaguely over there somewhere.  So, with that confession out of the way, now I can tell you about the American tourist I met the other week who was lost in the Plaka and asked me for directions.  It’s impossible to give directions in that area so I walked the lady to where she needed to get to.  She was very grateful that I’d taken the time to help her find her way and had absolutely no idea that I was then going to mock her on the internet. *

As we walked through the little lanes in the Plaka I asked her the usual dull tourist questions about where she’d been and where she was going.  We had a bit of a chat about islands and I gave her a restaurant recommendation and then asked her if she’d been to see the changing of the guard at Syntagma Square.  She told me that she hadn’t because she’d already seen it in London at Buckingham Palace.

*Now I can add ‘naive and trusting’ to my list of things I have decided about America and its people.

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Ha! That’s brilliant!

  2. AMAZING. If I read it in a novel I’d say it was too far fetched.

  3. May I point you at this, which mocks Americans for not understanding a basic menu: http://plubby.wordpress.com/2010/05/28/if-it-isnt-true-it-should-be/ ….?

  4. Actually, I’m with her on this. If you’ve seen one changing of the guard, you’ve seen them all. I think there’s a factory somewhere that churns them out.

  5. Oh dear god. How cringey for her.

  6. Yeah, I’m with KE on this.

  7. Ha. Surely everyone assumes they are going to be mocked on the internet sooner or later?


Leave a Reply

Categories

