Posted by: tabliope | August 27, 2010

More locust eating

It’s been so hot recently that I’ve done little towards my mission of finding good Greek wines for under ten Euros a bottle and instead have been grabbing either a bottle of Sigalis Santorini or the Savatiano and retiring to the shady spot of the balcony.  But laziness has brought some reward because someone else is much further ahead of the game than I and I plan to work my way through that little list.  My only gripe with this list is that it means I have to go to the Alpha Beta supermarket and our local one is like some special sublet of Hell.  I’ve lost count of the times I’ve said that I’ll never shop in there again but it’s probably not as many times as I’ve said that I’ll just have one small glass of that excellent wine.

And on another subject entirely:  Poros is the new favourite island.  Go there, it’s fab.  Fly to Athens, rent a car and drive down the Korinth road (probably best to do it with your eyes shut because that road is definitely not for the faint-hearted) and two hours later you’ll be on Poros.  Perfect base for tootling around the Peloponnese, taking a trip to Hydra and/or Spetses or, as we did, lie around under shady pine trees reading books, swimming, eating and drinking.

Responses

  1. “Poros is the island of peace, romance and jauntiness. ”
    Love it.

  2. I don’t think I’d ever want to be described as jaunty.

    I love how your previous entry suggested that summer’s bite might be weakening; perhaps that was premature, given what you say now? Or maybe the evenings are a bit more bearable.


Leave a Reply

Categories

