Posted by: tabliope | January 26, 2010

Yassas

I have signed up for Greek classes; at the moment it’s 20 hours of private tuition so I may be able to order a cup of coffee by the end of that. Although there’s a lot of English spoken here I feel like some bloody great Memsahib shouting at the natives because I just can’t do anything other than recite the alphabet and a couple of other things. I’d like to be able to at least say ‘I don’t speak much Greek, does anyone speak English?’ in Greek and then look smug because I’m speakin’ da lingo.

One of the problems with our lack of an internet/phone connection has been language related because we’ve been asking for things and thinking that we’ve been pretty clear (we shouted and spoke slowly, after all) and what has been understood hasn’t actually been what was said. ( I say, Harry, the natives don’t seem to be understanding me. Shoot one of them and see if that moves them on a bit). In terms of communication it probably won’t change very much but it will make me feel better.

Today I found the lamb in the central market halls. I found the whole lamb from nose to tail and there doesn’t seem to be a single part of any animal that they don’t sell there; blankets of tripe draped across the stalls, yards of intestines draining into buckets, enormous slabs of liver and hearts of varying sizes, a cow’s head complete with tongue along with the more prosaic chops and steaks. I can’t wait to go down there and actually buy something but I think it’s going to be about lesson 1,987 before I’m ready to ask those guys for anything.

Responses

  1. Congratulations! I hope, you will have fun!


Leave a Reply

Categories

