Posted by: tabliope | July 14, 2009

What I did on my holiday.

Ate. Okay, I drank as well.

Lyme Regis – fat salty chips
Beer – crab sandwiches; plaice
Colyton – sausages
Axminster – White Nancy cheese; walnut and honey bread
Axminster – bacon and egg
Colyton – cream tea
Sidmouth – ice cream
Seaton Hole- milky coffee at the cliff cafe
Colyford – lambs liver;
Axminster – Blandford Fly (Johnny 'sampled' everything I think)
Colyton – Lyme Bay Cider

Excellent lovely food but Johnny has taken against Hugh Fearnley Thingy because he thinks he's – well, you don't need the specifics but J did announce that he wanted to open a restaurant next door to Hugh's 'Canteen' called 'We Don't Give A Fuck' with the mission statement: our food makes you fat.  I suspect this has something to do with me spending most of our retirement fund on three slices of excellent ham and the White Nancy cheese, although it's probably best not to get J started on the merits of calling a restaurant a canteen.

I also became very excited about going to Waitrose. 

Responses

  1. oh joy and joy! Thats exactly my kind of holiday. I don’t have an issue with Canteen, unless said canteen charges 300 pounds for a bowl of soup and a chunk of break. In which case, its not a canteen, its daylight robbery

  2. [this is good] I vote that Johnny does his own blog post, expanding on the above.

  3. [this is good] I get excited about going to Waitrose and I go every week.

  4. I’m with Kate.
    And there is no doubt that Hugh Fearnley-Wotsit’s brand of back-to-nature/living off the land lifestyle is gobsmackingly expensive, so it’s very nice of Johnny to help him pay for it ….
    By the way, you didn’t happen to catch that River Cottage prog where he experimented with cooking with slugs did you?  They were clearly (from the faces of his poor staff who he made sample his slug kebabs) every bit as repulsive as you might imagine, no matter how much garlic and herbs he threw into the mix.

  5. [this is good] I’m so excited by all this talk of Waitrose that I’m going to go at lunchtime. Anyone want anything poncy?
    And yes, Johnny needs a right of reply.

  6. can you get me and Lucy some middle class canapes?

  7. You’ll have sausage rolls and you’ll fucking like them.

  8. plubs, I have never seen one of his programmes – maybe I could have that as my mission statement.

  9. They’re oddly addictive.  Mind you, I’m not sure I’d want to eat his food after seeing them – he always looks like he needs a good scrub ….

  10. ugh -the slugs.  They were a step too far.

  11. If you’re in that region again look out for a pub that sells Exmoor Ales the ‘Gold’ is particularly good, I’d probably call it my favourite beer.


Leave a Reply

Categories

