Posted by: tabliope | May 14, 2009

Yum

Take as much green asparagus as you feel you can eat.  It's worth pointing out that whatever you think you can eat is worth doubling and then adding a few more spears for luck, but there probably still won't be enough.  Just get loads.  Heat oven to 200 degrees and lay  asparagus out in roasting tins, shake of olive oil, salt and pepper and stuff in the hot oven for about 10 – 12 mins.  Serve with poached eggs or loads of parmesan or bacon or bacon and parmesan or whatever you like.  It's very very good.

(If you come to Germany or Switzerland during asparagus season they'll try and flog you white/violet asparagus which is very expensive and is tasteless and totally not worth it.  Remember Kermit, it's good to be green)

Responses

  1. [this is good] I broil asparagus with olive oil, salt and pepper – I always thought it was pretty good.  But introducing the eggs/parmesan/bacon quotient matches my good and raises the stakes to glorious.
    It’s after 1AM, and I really shouldn’t be hungry, but, well, there it is.

  2. the asparagus/eggs combination is a great one in the same vein as spinach/eggs and I’m wondering what an egg benedict with asparagus instead of spinach would be like.  Lunch I think

  3. Ooh.  I’ve always steamed mine – I shall have to try your method, which sounds delicious.

  4. I’ve never eaten asparagus. I don’t even know which bit you eat. There, I’ve said it.

  5. Poor Chefboy is allergic to it – can you imagine?

  6. you just snap the woody ends off and then eat the rest.  

  7. Ya bugger. I’m going to spend all my money on Asparagus now. I love the stuff & I think it’s great that it makes your pee smell funny.

  8. I love asparagus. I once spent a lovely afternoon at an asparagus farm eating mountains of the freshly picked stuff, after watching it grow. Yumeny yum. 


Leave a Reply

Categories

