Posted by: tabliope | November 9, 2008

Katie had a little lamb….

Last night we settled down to an excellent chicken curry (I never tire of being amazed at how a puree of ginger and garlic evolves into such sauciness) and whilst I could bandy around phrases such as 'influenced by' or 'inspired by', the truth of the matter is that I don't have a photograph of a sheep as my avatar for nothing.  Reading KE's experiences of the Vancouver Diet my inner lightbulb switched on and before you could say paratha we were off and running.  The only way to get a decent curry in this country is to make it yourself because while we have several Indian restaurants they're cooking for the Germans whose tastebuds have been blunted by dumplings and anything spicier than gravy makes them cry.   But they do make very good beer. 

Responses

  1. “Germans whose tastebuds have been blunted by dumplings and anything spicier than gravy makes them cry.”I heart you.

  2. How can they not do curry if they do beer?

  3. I used to be very popular in Berkeley Ca when I had curry evenings – the only Indian restaurant there at the time was so bland it was tragic ….
    Once I’ve used up the near-its-sell-by-date smoked fish (will make a big pot of chowder tonight), I reckon home-made dhal for lunches for the rest of the week.  Yum.


Leave a Reply

Categories

