Posted by: tabliope | July 28, 2008

Potatoes salt and fat

Over the weekend we went up into the mountains with a friend to do some hiking and we had a lunch which included bratkartoffeln – which  translates simply as fried potatoes, but it's much, much more.  Bratkartoffeln are my new number one comfort food.  During lunch we discussed and rated all the salt, fat and potato combinations: Mr Pork felt that mashed potatoes with butter were his number one but they had to have gravy with them and our friend wanted big fat chips as his number one.  We agreed that there wasn't a combination of potato, salt and fat that we'd refuse but then the blokes widened it out into any carbohydrate with salt and fat.  Favourite pasta dishes, pies, yorkshire puddings and so on.  Then Mr Pork decided that why should we stop at salt and fat  – we should include all the sugar, fat and carbohydrates too like cake and biscuits and we basically decided that carbohydrates mixed with anything were pretty fab. 

The recipe for bratkartoffeln translates as:

750 grammes waxy potatoes
3 – 4 desertspoons pork dripping
a good slug olive oil
3 small onions
150 grammes pancetta
salt and pepper

slice the potatoes (raw) into 2mm thickness – heat oil and dripping in a heavy frying pan – do not spare the amount of fat because the potatoes must swim in it (that's a direct translation!)- you can always drain them on kitchen paper.  Put potatoes into hot fat and reduce heat.  Keep an eye on the potatoes while you slice the onions and cube the pancetta – keep turning the potatoes every 4 or 5 mins and after 30 mins add bacon and onions and then cook for another 15 minutes and then add salt and pepper and then eat them.   

Responses

  1. God, that sounds good.
    The minkster gave some of us a masterclass (well, a detailed description of same) over beer in Lunnon town on Saturday afternoon.  It was too hot yesterday to contemplate putting on the oven, but I am looking forward to trying out her tips.  Apparently it’s ‘easy-peasy’.
    Yum.

  2. I would like to vote for rosti. Yum!
    And can I also suggest that anyone who voluntarily doesn’t eat carbs (apart from diabetics, at a push) is some kind of pervert? Harsh, perhaps. But you know I’m right.

  3. Yes, Plubs – me and the minkster are twins on the food front – I must admit to never cooking it at home when I can get it so easily in restaurants locally.Ms P – Rosti is a gift from heaven – it was one of the things that made Switzerland easier.  If you ever find yourself at the top of a swiss mountain in the winter in one of the cafes then get yourself wrapped around rosti, melted cheese, bacon and a fried egg.

  4. Can I add a big plate of New Potatoes lathered in butter to the list?* I’m afraid I’m not a big salt eater. Chips and slugs are the only things I usually use it on. Obviously I eat it in any of the industrial food I eat, or when I add an Oxo cube, but for my self I’m not a big salt user.**Same goes for Sugar really. I’m not a big pop drinker, unless you count Tonic in a G&T or the sugar in the Coke in a Jack’ and Coke or Rum and Coke***I’m a big fan of Cous-cous, Bulgar Wheat; various types of rice and pasta. Mainly because they don’t need peeling.*Also: Sweet corn, Boiled carrots, Savoy Cabbage, Peas, Butter Beans, Runner Beans, Broccoli, Trout and Sprouts. Some of those are carb’s some aren’t.**I lived with a lass who’d got out of the habit of using Salt, as her ex-husband couldn’t have it for medical reasons, she didn’t use it in cooking, so I got used to not having it added to food.***At the end of my student years I became too poor to buy sugar one week****, so  I stopped taking it in tea and diet pop just tastes nasty.****…but not booze 🙂

  5. I use a whole lot less salt since I had raised blood pressure but there are some things that need it – like chips.

  6. Ooh I had that – or a close approximation –  in the dolomites. I needed that five hour hike afterwards mind.

  7. You can get slug olive oil?

  8. oh honestly!  don’t you know anything?  Don’t you read how to source the best ingredients?  Don’t tell me that you’re still using olive oil made from, you know, olives?


Leave a Reply

Categories

