Posted by: tabliope | July 25, 2008

I had heard of Obama…

..but was nonetheless still a bit surprised by his reception in Berlin.  I don't know whether or not this was reported much in the UK but it hit all the channels here as the major news story plus all the papers from Bild (tabloid in a big boy's jacket) to all the broadsheet front pages.  I'm quite stunned that over a quarter of million people gathered to see him in Berlin and that he has had such overwhelmingly positive coverage here.  In the middle of almost losing my cynicsm about the modern day political machine I fucked up my pretensions to having an interest in current affairs by noticing the shots of him leaving his hotel and became a bit too excited about the fact that we'd both stayed in the same hotel.

But, that said, it was still pretty impressive.  (That Obama and I have both stayed in the same hotel, I mean.)

Barack Obama Berlin Speech Part 2

Responses

  1. I’m glad you’ve got your priorities right, p’kette ….

  2. Next round’s on you then, flashy. 

  3. Sadly, it was the world’s dullest speech.

  4. the only reason I stayed there Oinks was cos it was my mega-birthday present – and I suspect Obama didn’t wince at the cost of his cocktails.

  5. “Meet the New Boss, same as the Old Boss”

  6. There was a spectacularly racist commenter on the guardian that day, basically saying that the only reason why lots of Germans went to see him is because they’re not used to seeing black people. Seriously…


Leave a Reply

Categories

